Scam attempt on Carousell

So I was trying to sell a new, unused (opened box) Fitbit for RM270 on Carousell. And this doofus tried to scam me – unsuccessfully, of course! Just thought I’d share this so others will be aware.

I have had an attempted scam once before and I’ve read of too many of these kind of things so I am a little paranoid when it comes to money matters. And my paranoia paid off! haha. I had posted that I preferred COD only. But this guy apparently was overseas and wanted to send to his partner in Perak and was willing to pay RM30 for postage. If you consider that RM30 into the total price, he can get a brand new, unopened one for that price already, from reliable website like Harvey Norman, etc.  I was wondering why would he spend the same amount to buy an opened one from an unknown person. That got my scam sensors tingling so I told him I will only send the parcel once the money is physically in my bank (no transaction screenshot BS, ‘coz I have had someone else fake a screenshot last time – long story lol.)

So after a while, he said he has transferred the money and that I should be getting a confirmation email. He asked me to check my spam folder (from all my bank transfer experiences, the confirmation email has never gotten into the spam folder – duh, ‘coz they were legit). Indeed there was an email in the spam folder. Anyone who falls for it deserves a ‘lil pinch ‘coz the font and colours looked so off! Check out the screenshots below. I have done international transfers before and there’s no such policy of a minimum amount.

 

1234

Check out the account holder’s name! Some Indian name.

5

But the buyer had a Chinese name. I googled him and there is already a warning post on lowyat. haha.

6

I had not posted the parcel yet, so I have nothing to lose. As for this guy, I reported him, but he will go on to make a new account and keep scamming. I googled this Credit Europe scam, and it is not new. You can never stop them. Our best defence is being aware and sharing this to friends and family. Nowadays, young or old, educated or not, I still see people getting scammed.

So be careful, peeps! When things seem off, they just might be. haha

Leave a comment